SOEST Oceanography Department appoints first female chair

On 21 January 2020, Professor Margaret Anne McManus was appointed as the Chair of the Department of Oceanography in the School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology (SOEST) at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa (UHM). Professor McManus, who was nominated and elected by the faculty of the Department of Oceanography and approved by the Dean of SOEST, is the first woman to hold this position in the 56-year history of the department.

Professor McManus is a tenured, Full Professor in the Department of Oceanography, with 24 years of post-graduate experience. She has an established, internationally recognized research program, is recognized for her excellence in teaching and mentoring, and has held key leadership positions in the Department of Oceanography, SOEST, UHM and the oceanographic community.

Professor McManus earned a PhD in oceanography from the Center for Coastal Physical Oceanography, Old Dominion University (ODU), a MS in oceanography from ODU, and a BA in environmental science from the University of Virginia.

“I am honored to be appointed as Chair of the Department of Oceanography to serve our outstanding faculty, staff, postdoctoral researchers and students,” said McManus. “I look forward to working collaboratively with our department, school, university, and community in the years to come.”

Professor McManus replaces previous Chairman Professor Niklas Schneider who has been selected to lead the International Pacific Research Center (IPRC).