Congratulations, Jennifer, Barb, and Tyler!

Each year, the Chancellor recognizes the leadership and service of UH Mānoa faculty, staff, and students committed to enhancing the University’s mission of excellence. The 2017 Awards ceremony will be held on Monday 01 May at 4:00 pm in the Orvis Auditorium and will also be available for livecast viewing on this page.

A Mānoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching

Jennifer Griswold

Jennifer Griswold, an assistant professor of Atmospheric Sciences, strives to engage students through innovative labs, challenging problem-solving projects, peer-to-peer interaction and real-world examples of the principles of the field. In a world filled with tweets and texts and multi-media bombardment, Griswold began incorporating multi-media into her introduction to meteorology courses to encourage small group problem-solving on exams, assignments and lecture summaries. She has developed two new courses in atmospheric sciences, one that merges weather and climate information with the cultures of the Pacific Islands and another that teaches satellite data acquisition and analysis techniques. She is recognized by her students as a remarkable professor and advisor whose influence draws students from disciplines outside of science to study the atmospheric sciences. Her commitment to teaching extends to those who are underrepresented in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) fields by founding Expanding Your Horizons, a community outreach program that exposes young women in 6-8 grades to opportunities in STEM.

A Faculty Diversity Enhancement Award

Barbara Bruno

In her 20-year tenure, Barbara Bruno, a faculty specialist with the Hawai‘i Institute of Geophysics and Planetology (HIGP), has served in a variety of roles, including co-creation of the minority-focused C-MORE (Center for Microbial Oceanography: Research and Education) scholars program that provides cutting-edge research and educational opportunities to students, with 71 percent being underrepresented minorities. As co-principal investigator of ‘Ike Wai, she obtained a $20-million National Science Foundation Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) grant to secure Hawai‘i’s water future. She is the project director and co-founder of the SOEST Maile Mentoring Bridge programs that inspire Native Hawaiian, kama‘āina and individuals of other underrepresented ethnicities to pursue ocean, Earth and environmental science professions. These programs create unique mentoring relationships that offer support, encouragement and the sharing of knowledge. Her strategic vision, empathy and drive have enriched the lives of students and faculty throughout the UH System.

Student Employee of the Year Award

Tyler Lum

Tyler Lum of the Sea Grant College Program’s Hanauma Bay Education Program is a junior majoring in biology. This program assistant skillfully combines the knowledge he has gained through the UH marine biology program with effective education and outreach activities geared toward the nearly 800,000 visitors annually at the popular nature preserve. He has grown professionally and personally while in this position, evidenced by his selection as the 2017 Hawaiʻi State Winner of the Western Association of Student Employment Administrators.

Related Link