Maug Island

[ Bathymetry | Backscatter | Optical Validation | Geomorphology ]

Maug is a unique structure in the Mariana islands, consisting of three separate small islands (Higashi-shima – East Island, Kita-shima – North Island, and Nishi-shima – West Island) and a submerged caldera. It is located at 20 2’N, longitude 145 13’E, approximately 530 km north of Saipan. The outer shores of the three islands’ diameter is 3.3 km land while the submerged caldera has a diameter of approximately 2.2 km. The three islands have a total area of approximately 2.1 km2 and a maximum elevation of 227 m.

Click thumbnail maps below to explore PIBHMC’s data sets.


Small Maug 10 meter grid image.

Small Maug 10 meter grid image.