UHM Dept. of Earth Sciences banner, sunset
over Diamond Head, (c) Ken H Rubin

Research Overview

Research in our department spans all of the major disciplines in Earth Sciences, but focuses on those topics for which our unique Hawaiian/Central Pacific locale provide distinct advantages. For instance, our faculty, student, and postgraduate researchers work on:

The department is divided into 3 Research Divisions and 6 Research Themes, which represent a loose organizational structure. Our researchers collborate freely accross these boundaries, as well as with other SOEST researchers, and extramural researchers.

Learn more about our Research Facilities