7fcde7 square The Department of Oceanography at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, SOEST; photo by Dr Steven Businger

rotating photos Aloha!

Welcome to the Department of Oceanography in the School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa. The Department of Oceanography is located on the University of Hawaii’s largest campus (about 20,000 students), overlooking Waikiki and downtown Honolulu.

Inclusive of Cooperating and Affiliate members, more than 70 Graduate Faculty teach and advise graduate students in the Oceanography field of study. The collective research expertise and programs of these faculty provide a broad diversity of potential projects and employment opportunities for students. Department faculty are loosely organized into three Divisions — Physical Oceanography, Marine Geology and Geochemistry (MGGD), and Biological Oceanography; the research activities and publications of the Oceanography Faculty are described on other pages of this web site.

Prospective Students

We encourage applications from talented, motivated students to join our international department. Learn about the programs and application process.

Contact Us

Apollo 11 photo of the ocean planetFor more information, please contact us at:

  • Department of Oceanography
  • 1000 Pope Road, Marine Science Building (MSB) 205
  • School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology
  • University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
  • Honolulu, HI 96822 USA
  • tel: (808) 956-7633 • fax: (808) 956-9225
  • email: ocean@soest.hawaii.edu

Donate Donate to Friends of Oceanography

News and Announcements

Axel Timmermann Receives Regents' Medal for Execellence in Research

Congratulations to Axel Timmermann who has been selected to receive the 2015 UH Regents' Medal for Excellence in Research. Axel will receive the award, which includes both a medal and a monetary award, at a campus awards ceremony on May 5, 2015.

David Karl elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The Academy announced David Karl, the Pavel Chair in Oceanography and Director of C-MORE, among their 2015 class of members. Since its founding in 1780, the Academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Margaret Mead and Martin Luther King, Jr. in the twentieth. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

David Karl Honored with DuPont Award for Outstanding Accomplishment in Microbiology

David Karl, the Victor and Peggy Brandstrom Pavel professor of oceanography and director of the Daniel K. Inouye Center for Microbial Oceanography: Research and Education (C-MORE) at the University of Hawai?i has been honored with the 2015 DuPont Award in Applied and Environmental Microbiology from the American Society for Microbiology, the largest professional life sciences society in the world. With this award, the American Society for Microbiology recognizes “outstanding accomplishment” in research and development in environmental microbiology.

Congratulations to Grieg Steward and Matthew Church Recipients of the Department of Oceangraphy Edward Dixon Stroup and Klaus Wrytki Awards

Grieg Steward and Matthew Church were selected as the recipients of the Dept of Oceanography's excellence in teaching and mentoring awards, the Edward Dixon Stroup and Klaus Wrytki awards for undergraduate teaching and graduate teaching, respectively. These awards are named after two of the Department's leading educators.

Matthew Church Awarded with the Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award

The Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography (ASLO) has awarded Matthew Church, Oceanography associate professor, with this year’s Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award for his broad-based research in microbial oceanography from genomes to biomes, effective training and mentorship of diverse international scholars, and unselfish community service.

Ocean Faculty Learn the Details of How El Niño Affects Coral Reefs.

Faculty members Mark Merrifield, Brian Powell, Brian Glazer, research affiliate Samantha Stevenson, and Kim Cobb from Georgia Tech traveled to Palmyra Atoll to improve the understanding of how El Niño magnitude relates to coral oxygen isotope ratios. Watch a video of their field work here.

"Ocean in the News" archive articles


Pictures from Oceanography Student's and Faculty travels

Adam Jenkins

Photo submitted by Adam Jenkins



Photo submitted by Giacomo Giorli


Craig Smith

Photo submitted by Craig Smith


Tina Lin

Photo submitted by Tina Lin