POST building

SOEST Handbook for Postdoctoral Researchers

NOTE: This page is under development.

Post-doctoral Research Highlights

Who is a Postdoc?

In very general terms, a “postdoc” is anyone who has completed a doctorate degree (Ph.D., Sc.D.) and is continuing to carry out research in a university setting without a tenure track appointment. The term can refer to individuals who are formally employed or to individuals who receive their funds in the form of a stipend from a fellowship or traineeship, which means they are trainees rather than employees. There are significant differences in the two types of compensation, in terms of both benefits available to the postdoc and to the manner in which federal and state taxes are paid. Notably, the position titles applied to postdocs do not always clearly identify which form of appointment it is, thus it is important to clarify this prior to accepting an appointment.

In general, a “Postdoctoral Fellow” or “Postdoctoral Trainee” receives a stipend, and is not an employee. As a trainee or fellowship recipient, the compensation received is NOT directly associated with an hourly wage and no time sheets or record of hours is maintained. In addition, the benefits available to the postdoctoral fellow are generally limited to insurance (most commonly just health insurance) and the premiums are normally paid directly by the individual from their compensation. The compensation is fully taxable as income, but the institution providing the compensation does not withhold taxes as would be done for an employee, nor do Social Security nor Medicare taxes get taken out (and time as a fellow is not credited as employment for Social Security purposes).

Postdoctoral employees are most often classified as “Postdoctoral Researchers” or “Postdoctoral Associates,” but the terminology is not uniform everywhere. Within SOEST, there are true employees of the Research Corporation of the University of Hawai‘i (RCUH) with the position title “RCUH Postdoctoral Fellow.” Postdocs who are employees are eligible for a variety of benefits above and beyond health insurance, sometimes including retirement benefits (after 12 months at RCUH). Their pay is treated as normal income, and the paying entity (either UH or RCUH) withholds both federal and state taxes, as well as Social Security and Medicare taxes.

To be added to the SOEST postdoc email list, please send an email to  postdoc at soest.hawaii.edu.

Changes to Support for Postdocs in SOEST

PowerPoint Presentation on changes to support for postdocs in SOEST, proposed to be implemented for proposals or supplements submitted on or after July 1, 2019. Presented for discussion on 5/22/19 by Sandy Shor and Chris Sabine, and the HR team from RCUH.

Tax Information

While we develop information specific to Hawai‘i residents, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) has a page with general information, including a PDF of fiscal information for postdocs, some of which is general enough to be applicable to you.

Please note that SOEST can only provide general information and cannot provide you with specific information about your individual tax situation.

Additional tax information for stipend postdocs

Dept of Oceanography Postdoctoral Scholar information

Download the 2019 Dept of Oceanography Postdoctoral Scholar orientation presentation as a screen-resolution PDF. In addition to containing information specifically for department members, it contains resources regarding conduction responsible research, UH and SOEST policies on sexual harassment and bullying, and general information about safety in the Islands.

Nature Careers Toolkit

Nature has published an early career researcher’s guide to the working world of science in a new toolkit filled with articles ranging from how to cultivate a resume to how to find funding.

A list of Postdoctoral Scholars and Postdoctoral Fellows

Unit Name Email Phone Number
ATMO Han-Ching Chen hanching@hawaii.edu 808-670-7255
ATMO Thomas Dunn tdunn@hawaii.edu 808-358-5114
ATMO Lacey Holland lh33@hawaii.edu 303-775-7269
ATMO Sunghun Kim waterneedskim@gmail.com NA
ATMO Hui Shi huis@hawaii.edu (808) 956-2574
ATMO Sen Zhao zhaos@hawaii.edu (808)956-7110
BO Laetitia Dadaglio dadaglio@hawaii.edu NA
BO Jesse van der Grient grientj@hawaii.edu NA
CMORE Dominique Boeuf dboeuf@hawaii.edu 808-956-3413
CMORE Mathieu Caffin NA NA
CMORE Mathilde Dugenne dugennem@hawaii.edu 808-956-0564
CMORE Fernanda Henderikx Freitas fhenderi@hawii.edu (808) 956-0564
CMORE Andy Leu aleu@hawaii.edu 808 956 0561
CMORE Fuyan Li fuyanli@hawaii.edu NA
CMORE Carmen Burgos Martin  burgosma@hawaii.edu  808-956-3446
CMORE Daniel Mende mendedan@hawaii.edu 808-233-8876
CMORE Uri Sheyn urisheyn@gmail.com x6056114
ERTH Jana Schierjott jschierj@hawaii.edu NA
ERTH Chong Xu xuchong5751@stu.ouc.edu.cn NA
HIGP Stephanie Barde-Cabusson sbarde@hawaii.edu NA
HIGP Patrick Donohue phdonohue@higp.hawaii.edu (808) 956-3136
HIGP Andrea Gabrieli gabrieli@higp.hawaii.edu (808) 956-3620
HIGP Kenta Ohtaki kohtaki@hawaii.edu (808) 956-3160
HIGP Feng Zhu zhufeng@hawaii.edu (808) 956-8760
HIMB Keisha Bahr kbahr@hawaii.edu (808)236-7440
HIMB Courtney Couch courtneyscouch@gmail.com (808) 725-5507
HIMB Chelsie Counsell counsell@hawaii.edu NA
HIMB Zac Forsman zac@hawaii.edu (808) 236-7493
HIMB Kelle Freel kfreel@hawaii.edu (808) 236-7465
HIMB Chris Jury jurycp@hawaii.edu (808) 236-7471
HIMB Ingrid Knapp iknapp@hawaii.edu (808) 393-3813
HIMB Eva Majerova majerova@hawaii.edu (808) 854-4057
HIMB Lillian Raz tuttlel@hawaii.edu (808) 956-6990
HIMB Sherril Leon Soon leonsoon@hawaii.edu (808) 236-7497
HIMB Jan Vicente vicentejan@hawaii.edu (808) 236-7471
HNEI Lei Wang lei2@hawaii.edu (808) 956-6285
HNEI Quang-Vu Bach qvbach@hawaii.edu (808) 956-5397
HNEI George Bauer gbaure@hawaii.edu (808) 956-2343
HNEI Yan Chen yc2@hawaii.edu (808) 956-7634
HNEI Wang Lei Lei2@hawaii.edu NA
HNEI Ganesh Mohan NA (808) 956-4207
HNEI M Arifur Rahman marahman@hawaii.edu (808) 956-8890
HNEI Wilman Septina wseptina@hawaii.edu (808) 956-5229
HNEI Quynh Thi Tu Tran tranttq@hawaii.edu (808) 956-8096
IPRC Mingyu Bi mingyu@hawaii.edu NA
IPRC Genevieve Brett brett33@hawaii.edu NA
IPRC Ziqiang Du ziqiang@hawaii.edu NA
IPRC Rong Fei rongf@hawaii.edu NA
IPRC Wei-Ching Hsu wchsu@hawaii.edu (808) 956-8749
IPRC Chunhan Jin junch@hawaii.edu NA
IPRC Feng Hu NA NA
IPRC Sihua Huang NA NA
IPRC Yuanlong Li yuanlong@hawaii.edu NA
IPRC Qiao Liu NA NA
IPRC Xiao Luo luox@hawaii.edu (808) 956-9158
IPRC Chen Ma chenma@hawaii.edu NA
IPRC Zhanhong Ma NA NA
IPRC Ryusuke Masunaga ryusukem@hawaii.edu (808) 956-8749
IPRC Vasco Mueller vmueller@hawaii.edu (808) 956-8749
IPRC Eitaro Oka eoka21@hawaii.edu NA
IPRC Shusaku Sugimoto shusakus@hawaii.edu NA
IPRC Ruifang Wang NA NA
IPRC Tianyi Wang tianyi@hawaii.edu NA
IPRC Yuxing Yang yuxing@hawaii.edu NA
IPRC Daling Li Yi lidaling@hawaii.edu NA
JIMAR Assaf Azouri assaf@hawaii.edu NA
JIMAR Courtney Couch courtneyscouch@gmail.com (808) 725-5507
JIMAR Laxmikant (Atul) Dhage dhage@hawaii.edu NA
JIMAR Xiaoyu Long xlong@hawaii.edu (808) 956-8728
JIMAR Katharine Smith kasmith6@hawaii.edu (808) 956-7633
OCN Assaf Azouri assaf@hawaii.edu NA
OCN Dominique Boeuf dboeuf@hawaii.edu  (808) 956-3413
OCN Mathieu Caffin NA NA
OCN Laetitia Dadaglio dadaglio@hawaii.edu NA
OCN Mathilde Dugenne dugennem@hawaii.edu (808) 956-0564
OCN Fuyan Li fuyanli@hawaii.edu NA
OCN Melissa Melendez Oyola mmelen@hawaii.edu NA
OCN Daniel Mende mendedan@hawaii.edu (808) 233-8876
OCN Qian Li liqian@hawaii.edu (808) 956-7005
OCN Sonia Romero soniarom@hawaii.edu (808) 956-7633
OCN Christopher Schvarcz schvarcz@hawaii.edu (808) 956-0577
OCN Joji Uchikawa uchikawa@hawaii.edu (808) 956-3285
OCN Jesse van der Grient grientj@hawaii.edu NA
OCN Lindsay Veazey lindsayv@hawaii.edu NA
OCN Travis Washburn twashbur@hawaii.edu (417) 593-4887
ORE Pina Gruden pgruden@hawaii.edu NA
ORE Linyan Li linyanli@hawaii.edu (808) 956-7572
ORE Ning Li ningli@hawaii.edu (808) 956-6448
PBRC Brittany Bennett brittany.bennett@hawaii.edu (808) 539-7323
PBRC Clotilde Bongrande bongrand@hawaii.edu NA
PBRC Tara Essock-Burns essock@hawaii.edu (808) 539-7323
PBRC Marnie Freckelton marnief@hawaii.edu (808) 539-7318
PBRC Katrina Gundlach kgundlac@hawaii.edu (808) 539-7323
PBRC Eric Koch ejkoch@hawaii.edu NA
PBRC Jeanette Niestroy niestroy@hawaii.edu (808) 956-6990
PBRC Melisandre Tefit mtefit@hawaii.edu (808) 539-7323
PBRC Christopher Wall cbwall@hawaii.edu NA
PBRC Sheree Watson shereew@hawaii.edu NA
       

To be added to the SOEST postdoc email list, please send an email to  postdoc at soest.hawaii.edu.

To be added to this list or to the SOEST Directory, to make changes to your listing, or to let us know about any errors, please email Brooks Bays at SOEST Publication Services.

If you have suggestions for additional content to this page, please contact Eirik Lohr or Associate Dean for Reseach Chris Sabine.