SOEST scientists among world’s most influential researchers

University of Hawaiʻi experts were named to the Web of Science’s Highly Cited Researchers list for 2022, including two SOEST professors.

Released on November 15, the list recognizes scientists who have demonstrated significant influence through publishing multiple highly cited papers during the last decade. The experts were selected from the publications that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and publication year in the Web of Science citation index.

“We are proud of the high quality research demonstrated by our very own UH scientists on this premier list of highly cited researchers. Their work provides further evidence of our status as one of the world’s great research universities,” UH Mānoa Provost Michael Bruno said.

Professor Fei-Fei Jin

For the third consecutive year, SOEST Atmospheric Sciences professor Fei-Fei Jin was named to the list in the cross-field category, which identifies researchers who have contributed highly cited papers across several different disciplines. Jin’s research interests cover a wide range of topics, including the dynamics of large-scale atmosphere and ocean circulations, and climate variability. His primary research focuses are understanding the dynamics of El Niño-Southern Oscillation, climate variability in the extratropical atmospheric circulation and global warming.

Professor Emeritus Bin Wang

SOEST professor emeritus Bin Wang was recognized on the highly cited researchers list in the geosciences category for the third time (previously in 2017 and 2018). He has been with the Department of Atmospheric Sciences (formerly Department of Meteorology) at UH Mānoa since 1987. Wang is a leading meteorologist specializing in climate and atmospheric dynamics. Among his research interests are variability and predictability of Asian-Australian monsoons, climate predictions, tropical cyclones and El Niño-Southern Oscillation dynamics.

Additional recognitions

Former SOEST postdoctoral fellow Daniel Mende with the Center for Microbial Oceanography: Research and Eduction (C-MORE) was honored in the cross-field category for the first time. Mende specializes in environmental microbiology, microbial ecology, metagenomics and more. Mende is now assistant professor at Amsterdam University Medical Center, University of Amsterdam.

Professor Stephen Vargo has appeared on this premier list for the ninth consecutive year. Institute for Astronomy Associate Professor and Astronomer Daniel Huber was recognized on the highly cited researchers list for the fourth straight year.

This story was compiled based on current affiliation according to the Web of Science’s Highly Cited Researchers list. If there are other researchers currently or formerly affiliated with UH, email Marc Arakaki at

Read more at UH News.