UHM Dept. of Earth Sciences banner, sunset
over Diamond Head, (c) Ken H Rubin

Bachelor of Science in Earth Sciences



This BS degree is designed for students interested in pursuing graduate work or employment in areas related to Earth or Environmental Sciences, geology, geochemistry or geophysics. It provides the essential grounding in computational, analytical, and observational skills needed in the earth and environmental sciences. The program is interdisciplinary, emphasizing the integration of chemistry, physics, and mathematics to studying the Earth.

The BS in Earth Sciences requires completion of 124 credit hours of coursework, the equivalent of four years of full-time study. Of this, 48 credits are required in the ERTH curriculum, including one introductory level geology course with a lab, ten non-introductory level ERTH courses, a two-credit research seminar, and eleven credits of ERTH electives. With advice and consent of an undergraduate advisor, courses in other natural sciences, mathematics, or engineering can also be taken as electives. A mainland summer field course is an elective, which students are strongly encouraged to take. An undergraduate thesis is also encouraged but not required. The required supporting science classes (28-29 credits) include physics, chemistry, biological science, and college calculus, and should be taken as early as possible.

Earth Sciences Courses

Required ERTH Courses (37 credits)

Upper Division ERTH Electives (11 credits)

Required Support Courses (28-29 credits)