Jump toCooperating Graduate FacultyAffiliate Graduate FacultyAdjunct FacultyEmeritus Faculty

Cooperating Graduate Faculty

ORE has a number of cooperating faculty members from other research or academic units at UH. Cooperating faculty members give seminars on their research, serve on student research committees, and advise students on their theses or independent research projects.

Janet M. Becker, PhD, Department of Geology and Geophysics
Nonlinear surface and internal waves, general ocean circulation, hydrodynamic stability
jbecker@soest.hawaii.edu

Monique Chyba, PhD, Department of Mathematics
Control theory, Optimal control, Trajectory design, Differential Geometry, Underwater Vehicle
mchyba@math.hawaii.edu

Oceana Francis, PhD, PE, Department of Civil Engineering
Coastal infrastructure, sustainable water and wastewater systems, ocean waves
oceanaf@hawaii.edu

Reza Ghorbani, PhD, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Director: Renewable Energy Design Laboratory
rezag@hawaii.edu

Brian T. Glazer, PhD, Department of Oceanography
Subseafloor Biosphere, Coastal Benthic Boundary Layer, Instrumentation Development
glazer@hawaii.edu

Stephen M. Masutani, PhD, Hawaii Natural Energy Institute
Ocean resources engineering
masutan@wiliki.eng.hawaii.edu

Gary McMurtry, PhD, Department of Oceanography
Director Pacific GPS Facility Uranium-Series Disequilibrium, Marine Mineral Formation and Resources, Submarine Hydrothermal Systems, Magmatic Volatiles, Submarine Monitoring Technology, Mass spectrometry
garym@soest.hawaii.edu

Mark A. Merrifield, PhD, Department of Oceanography
Coastal circulation, physical oceanography, ocean measurements and data analysis
markm@soest.hawaii.edu

H.Ronald Riggs, PhD, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Structural Engineering, Hydroelasticity
riggs@hawaii.edu

John R. Smith, PhD, Hawai‘i Undersea Research Laboratory
Marine survey
jrsmith@soest.hawaii.edu

J. Yu, PhD, Hawai‘i Natural Energy Institute
Marine bioproducts
jianyu@hawaii.edu

Affiliate Graduate Faculty

ORE has several affiliate faculty members from the engineering and scientific communities. Affiliate faculty members volunteer their time and bring individual expertise, external perspectives and real-world engineering experience to the academic program. Some of them serve on student research committees and team-teach the capstone design project with the ORE faculty.

B. Dandridge Greeson, PhD
Nuclear Engineer, Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard.

Geno Pawlak, PhD
Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Dept.
University of California, San Diego, California.

David Rezachek, PhD, PE
Rezachek & Associates, Honolulu, Hawaii

David Smith, PhD, PE
Senior Coastal Engineer, Sea Engineering

Lora Van Uffelen, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Ocean Engineering
University of Rhode Island

Dayan Vithanage, PhD, PE
Vice President, Oceanit Laboratories, Inc., Honolulu, Hawai‘i

Adjunct Faculty

Suk Wang Yoon, PhD
Adjunct Professor of Ocean & Resources Engineering
Professor of Physics, SungKyunKwan University, Korea
Underwater Acoustics, Acoustic Roles of Bubbles in Sound Propagation at Sea, Nonlinear Acoustics, Ocean Sediment Acoustics, Ambient Sound in the Ocean, Physical Acoustic Characterization, Biomedical Acoustic Applications
swyoon@hawaii.edu

Emeritus Faculty

F. Gerritsen, PhD
Hans-Jurgen Krock, PhD
Ludwig H. Seidl, PhD