ORE has 8 departmental faculty members. All faculty members are graduate faculty with the UH Graduate Division and are responsible for instruction, research, and administration within the department. To administer the department, faculty serve rotational terms as ORE Department Chair, Associate Chair, and Graduate Chair.

Jump to: Ellen Briggs, Kwok Fai Cheung (Graduate Chair), Bruce Howe, Deniz Gedikli, Zhenhua Huang, Mike Krieg, Eva-Marie Nosal (Department Chair), Justin E. Stopa


Ellen Briggs, PhDEllen Briggs

Assistant Professor
808-956-5782
embriggs@hawaii.edu

Development and deployment of prototype autonomous sensors and instrumentation, chemical sensors, using novel instrumentation for monitoring the marine inorganic carbon dioxide system, coral reef metabolism, and biogeochemical dynamics in the seasonal sea ice zone



Kwok Fai Cheung

Kwok Fai Cheung, PhD, PE

Professor and Graduate Chair
808-956-3485
cheung@hawaii.edu

Coastal and offshore engineering, marine hydrodynamics, computational methods, water wave mechanics, coastal flood hazards


Deniz Gedikli, PhDDeniz Gedikli

Assistant Professor
egedikli@hawaii.edu

Offshore marine structures, Experimental hydrodynamics and fluid-structure interactions, Structural dynamics, Dynamical systems and development of multivariate analysis methods, Data science and nonlinear time series analysis


Bruce HoweBruce Howe, PhD

Research Professor
808-956-0466
bhowe@hawaii.edu

Ocean acoustics including tomography and ambient sound, ocean observing sensor webs including fixed (e.g., cabled) and mobile platforms (e.g., gliders and profilers), navigation, and communications


Zhenhua HuangZhenhua Huang, PhD

Associate Professor
808-956-8100
zhenhua@hawaii.edu

Marine energy, hydrodynamics of ocean waves, coastal and ocean engineering, coastal sediment transport, coral reef hydrodynamics, tsunami hazard mitigation


Mike Krieg, PhDMike Krieg

Assistant Professor
kriegmw@hawaii.edu

Underwater robotics, autonomous vehicles

.


Eva-Marie Nosal, PhD

Associate Professor and Department Chair
808-956-7686
nosal@hawaii.edu

Passive acoustic monitoring methods, ocean ambient noise, sediment acoustics, bioacoustics, signal processing, inverse methods DCLDE2020


Justin Stopa Justin E. Stopa, PhD

Assistant Professor
808-956-6818
stopa@hawaii.edu

Marine forecasting / hindcasting, data analysis applications in geophysical datasets, oceanic remote sensing, spectral wave models, wind and wave climate


Still looking for someone?