ORE has 6 departmental faculty members. All faculty members are graduate faculty with the UH Graduate Division and are responsible for instruction, research, and administration within the department. To administer the department, faculty serve rotational terms as ORE Department Chair, Associate Chair, and Graduate Chair.

Jump to: Kwok Fai Cheung (Graduate Chair), Bruce Howe, Zhenhua Huang, Gérard C. Nihous, Eva-Marie Nosal (Department Chair), John C. Wiltshire (Associate Chair)


Kwok Fai Cheung

Kwok Fai Cheung, PhD, PE

Professor and Graduate Chair
808-956-3485
cheung@hawaii.edu

Coastal and offshore engineering, marine hydrodynamics, computational methods, water wave mechanics, coastal flood hazards


Bruce HoweBruce Howe, PhD

Research Professor
808-956-0466
bhowe@hawaii.edu

Ocean acoustics including tomography and ambient sound, ocean observing sensor webs including fixed (e.g., cabled) and mobile platforms (e.g., gliders and profilers), navigation, and communications


Zhenhua HuangZhenhua Huang, PhD

Associate Professor
808-956-8100
zhenhua@hawaii.edu

Marine energy, hydrodynamics of ocean waves, coastal and ocean engineering, coastal sediment transport, coral reef hydrodynamics, tsunami hazard mitigation


Gérard C. NihousGérard C. Nihous, PhD

Associate Professor
808-956-2338
nihous@hawaii.edu

Ocean Thermal Energy Conversion (OTEC), wave energy, methane hydrates, ocean carbon sequestration


Eva-Marie Nosal, PhD

Associate Professor and Department Chair
808-956-7686
nosal@hawaii.edu

Passive acoustic monitoring methods, ocean ambient noise, sediment acoustics, bioacoustics, signal processing, inverse methods


John WiltshireJohn C. Wiltshire, PhD

Specialist and Associate Chair
Director, Hawai‘i Undersea Research Laboratory  (HURL)
808-956-6042
johnw@soest.hawaii.edu

Hawai‘i Undersea Research Laboratory – Submersibles, ROVs, deep-sea mining technology, ocean energy systems


Still looking for someone?