Honors and Awards

Gary Huss and Klaus Keil

UH gets $1.5M astronomy grant

The W.M. Keck Foundation has given the University of Hawaii 1.5 Million dollars to support a new ion microprobe, part of a new UH cosmochemistry laboratory.

Read more about it in the Honolulu Advertiser, on the KHNL web site.

You can also see the Press Release.

Image courtesy of Bob Chinn/ University Relations

Judith Vergun

Judith Vergun receives Presidental Award

The Kumu Ola: Source of Knowledge Director is among recipients of Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring.

Read more about it in the Corvallis Gazette-Times.

Or see the Press Release.

Image courtesy of Judith Vergun/Kumu Ola

GG student wins University-wide Excellence in Research Award

G&G PhD student Nicole Lautze won the 2005 RCUH Student Excellence in Research award this month. The awards are made by a committee of the University’s top scholars to UH’s best researchers at MS and PhD level. Nicole was nominated by Departmental Chair Charles Fletcher and her advisor Bruce Houghton for her studies of explosive eruptions at Stromboli Volcano ( Italy) in 2002, published in May 2005, in the high profile journal Geology. Nicole is a graduate of UCLA, who has divided her time at Manoa between studies on Etna and Stromboli volcanoes. Nicole was admitted to UH after winning the Weather Service Fellowship, made to the top applicants in the School of Earth and Ocean Sciences and Technology. In her second year at UH she applied for and was awarded a highly competitive NSF Student Fellowship which will provide funding until completion of her PhD in December 2005.

Paul Lucey

Paul Lucey given University Research Council award

Paul Lucey from the Hawaii Institute of Geophysics (HIGP) has received this year's University Research Council's award for Excellence in Research. Only one award at the R-5 level is made each year, so this is a great honor for Paul.

Photo courtesy of SOEST

Arnaud Bossuyt will be awarded Link Foundation fellowship

Mr. Arnaud Bossuyt, a Ph. D. candidate in the ORE department of SOEST has recently been informed that he will receive a Link Foundation Ocean Engineering and Instrumentation Fellowship in the amount of $25,000 for the 2005-2006 academic year. His is one of two awarded this year in the US and Canada. Arnaud is working with Gary McMurtry on a NSF project, entitled "Collaborative research: Towards quantifying the carbon flux from margins using novel submarine instrumentation".

Read more about it in the Link Foundation web site

Mark Rognstad

Mark Rognstad awarded IEEE Teacher Engineer partnership award

Mark Rognstad of the Hawaii Mapping Research Group received the IEEE-USA (The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Precollege Education Committee Teacher-Engineer partnership Award on March 12.
He is being honored "for providing mentorship, support and encouragement to students interested in science, technology, and mathematics through engineering competitions at the local, regional and national levels."

Read more about it in the IEEE web site.

Photo courtesy of HMRG/SOEST

Barry Huebert

Barry Huebert's paper cited in ISI

ISI Essential Science Indicators has chosen a paper of Barry Hueberts as their "fast-breaking paper in the geosciences" for February

Read more about it in the ISI web site.

Photo courtesy of ISI

Fred and Terri Duennebier

Fred Duennebier named UH Outstanding Alumni

Congratulations go to Fred Duennebier, one of eight distinguished alumni who will be recognized by the University of Hawai'i at the annual awards dinner in May.

Read more about it in the Honolulu Star Bulletin.

Photo courtesy of Fred Duennebier/SOEST

Dave Krupp

HIMB researcher honored

UH faculty members selected David A. Krupp as one of 4 faculty members who will receive the Hung Wo and Elizabeth Lau Ching Foundation Award for making significant contributions for strengthening ties between the university and the community.

Read more about it in the Honolulu Star Bulletin.

Photo courtesy of Bob Chinn/ UH Relations

Dave Karl

David Karl receives highest honor from Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute

SOEST marine scientist David Karl won the Henry Bryant Bigelow Award in oceanography for his contributions in the field of microbiology and the ecological role of microogranisms in the sea.

Read more about it in Pacific Business News and the Honolulu Star Bulletin.

Photo courtesy of Dave Karl /SOEST

Barry Raleigh

Senate recognizes C. Barry Raleigh

The Senate of the Twenty-Second Legistlature of the State of Hawaii has recognized and congratulated former Dean of SOEST, C. Barry Raleigh for his "contributions and dedication to bringing the University of Hawaii at Manoa to the forefront of ocean, atmospheric, and earth science studies".

The full text of the recognition can be found here.

To Submit award info, please contact Tara Hicks Johnson

News Home ~ Press Releases ~ Awards ~ Publications ~ Events ~ For Educators ~ Contact Info

Link to SOEST Home Page

To contribute information for this page, contact Tara Hicks.

(c) Copyright 2005. SOEST Communications & Outreach Office. All rights reserved.