HURL Banner

Regions of Service

Areas of HURL submersible operations to date have included the main and Northwestern Hawaiian Islands, the U.S. Line Islands (e.g., Kingman, Palmyra, Jarvis), Johnston Atoll, American Samoa including Rose Atoll, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the international waters of Tonga and New Zealand.  Wet diving operations sponsored through HURL have extended our reach to Guam, the Federated States of Micronesia, and the Republic of Palau.  Future target areas for HURL include the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands and the Phoenix Islands (e.g., Howland, Baker).  Many of these areas are now marine national monuments and, because of their remote locations, have had little to no deep-sea investigations carried out in their waters and island flanks.

HURL Regions of Service

[click on image for larger version]

[ Top of page ]